Almond Biscotti

Almond Biscotti

I love coffee. In fact, most nights I go to bed with a smile as I think about my hot cup awaiting me in just a few hours. Most mornings I am up at by 5, way before the rest of my house. I savor this time to myself. First thing I do is get my coffee brewing. Some mornings, it’s a cup from my Keurig. Other mornings, I pack some Bustello espresso in the Mokapot accompanied with some milk freshly frothed in my Aerrocino. I like a nice, dark roast and a hot mug. Most mornings I read my devotions, browse the web or read a book. It’s my special time and I really enjoy it. As of late, I try to limit my coffee time to 45 minutes and hit the treadmill for a run. My sisters, who live in Michigan, and I are virtually training together to run a half marathon in June. I run three days during the week and a long run on the weekends. I’m starting to look forward to my run as much as my coffee. They both give me a great kickstart to the day. And, what goes better with coffee then a biscotti (or two)! This recipe is super simple to make and the variations are endless. Biscotti will keep for a long time in a sealed container and they also freeze wonderfully. What a nice treat with a morning cup of coffee or perhaps with a latte at the end of a long day…or, why not with a cup of tea in the afternoon? And, these make a great addition to any brunch or tea. I’m bringing them to a weekend get together with family. I’m sure they will go quickly. But, you can be sure I will be dipping one in my cup of coffee this morning!  Hope you enjoy!

ALMOND BISCOTTI

First, bring your eggs to room temperature. Next, toast some almonds. I used whole almonds and toasted them for 8 minutes at 350. Allow those nuts to cool, then coarsely chop. Lower your oven to 300, and prepare your biscotti batter.

Mix your dry ingredients.Almond Biscotti Next, add your coarsely chopped almonds.Almond Biscotti Now, add in the beaten eggs with extracts.Almond Biscotti The batter will be very thick and sticky. After mixing the eggs with the spatula, I got in there with my hands and worked it together. Then, form a ball with the dough and place on a floured surface.Almond Biscotti Split the dough into two equal balls and roll into a log that is about 7 inches long and 3-4 inches wide. I busted out the measuring tape to make sure my size was correct.Almond Biscotti Place on parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 35 minutes. Then, cool on wire racks for 15 minutes.Almond Biscotti Next, you want to cut your biscottis. Take the loaves and cut on the slight diagonal approx 3/4 inches a slice.
Eat the end pieces. 🙂Almond Biscotti Now, you are going to lay your cut pieces back on your parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes. Flip over and bake for 10-15 more minutes. Bake for 15 each side if you like them really crispy. 10 if you like a little chewy/crispy.Almond Biscotti Once you have baked on both sides, let cool on wire rack and make your chocolate. You can melt over a saucepan with boiling water (double boiler) or use the microwave. I used the microwave and it worked great. Melt your chocolate.Almond Biscotti I used semi sweet chocolate chips. Now, start dipping your biscotti. Once covered to your satisfaction, lay on parchment lined baking sheet.Almond Biscotti Once they are all covered, place in fridge for about 10 minutes to set. Almond Biscotti Now, brew yourself some coffee and enjoy!

Here’s the recipe:

3/4 cup almonds
3 large eggs
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp pure almond extract
2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Bring 3 eggs to room temp. Toast almonds at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes. Let cool, then coarsely chop. Turn oven down to 300 degrees. Mix eggs and both extracts in a small bowl. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add chopped, toasted almonds to dry ingredients. Next, mix in wet ingredients. Once moistened, use your hands to work ingredients together and form a ball. Place on lightly floured surface. Split ball into 2 and form each half into a log about 7in long and 3-4 in wide. Transfer both logs to parchment lined cookie sheet and bake for 35 minutes, until firm to the touch. Cool on wire racks for 15 minutes. Next, transfer logs to cutting board and cut on the slight diagonal into 1/2-3/4 in pieces. Lay pieces flat on parchment lined cookie sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes (depending on how crispy you like your biscotti), take out and turn over. Then, bake for another 10-15 minutes. Let biscotti cool on wire racks. Melt chocolate chips. Next, dip the biscotti in the melted chocolate and lay on parchment lined cookie sheet. Place chocolate dipped biscotti in the fridge to set for 10 minutes. Biscotti should keep for at least a week in a air tight container. Or, they freeze wonderfully. Just pull out 15-20 minutes before enjoying.

Recipe from Joy of Baking.comAlmond Biscotti

One thought on “Almond Biscotti

Leave a Reply

