Salted Chocolate, Pecan and Toffee Squares

Image

I have a confession. I am a cruncher. Meaning I love foods that crunch…chips, crackers, nuts, cereal. Really, I can find a way to crunch food that normally isn’t crunchy much to my husband’s dismay. (He’s a slurper, but that’s a post for another day.) And, the more that I am enjoying what I am eating, the louder I crunch. It’s almost as if I am crunching subconsciously. But, please take it as a compliment if you ever hear me crunching something you made…like these Salted Chocolate Pecan Toffee Squares. Oh my, are they good. Minimal ingredients, easy prep, little cooking time and lots to share. The hardest part of this recipe is waiting for the squares to cool before digging in!

Martha introduced these yummy squares. My husband and I couldn’t stop eating them. Every bite I tasted something new…toffee, graham cracker, toasted pecan, chocolate, and the sea salt. The sea salt puts these on another level. We gave them the nickname of “crackle” as they taste as good as I’m sure crack must taste if you are a crackhead. Well, that doesn’t sound so good now that I type that out. But, trust me. They are that good. Great recipe to share with family, friends and neighbors!

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:
16 whole graham crackers, 2 individual packages from a standard 14 ounce box
1 bag toffee bits such as Bits of Brickle
2 cups coarsely chopped toasted pecans
(I toast pecans on the stove over med/low heat for 2-3 minutes)
½ cup sugar
1 cup butter  (2 sticks)
6 ounces chocolate chips* (or more!)
¾ teaspoon good quality** sea salt
 
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350. Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil. Spray foil with cooking spray.
 
2. Place graham crackers in a single layer on the sheet pan, edges touching. You will need to break a few of the crackers to completely cover the pan.
 
3. Sprinkle toffee bits over graham crackers.
 
4. In a small saucepan, bring sugar and butter to a boil over medium-high. Reduce heat and cook at a rapid simmer, swirling pan occasionally, until mixture is syrupy and begins to turn a pale golden color, about 4 minutes.
 
5. Immediately pour sugar/butter mixture over graham crackers. Spread with a knife if necessary to cover the entire surface. Bake for 6 minutes then sprinkle with toasted pecans and return to oven. Bake until sugar topping is bubbling, another 6-7 minutes. Remove from oven and immediately sprinkle chocolate chips and sea salt over graham crackers.
 
6. Slide foil with toffee bars onto to a large cutting board. With a sharp knife or pizza cutter, quickly cut into 3-inch squares. The longer you wait the more difficult they will be to cut into neat squares.Cool completely (if you can stand it!). Store in an airtight container, up to 1 week.
 
Notes:
* I used a combination of semisweet, dark and white chocolate chips but really the sky’s the limit here – butterscotch, peanut butter and mint would all be wonderful.
The variations are endless!
** Use a good quality, fairly coarse sea salt that you can crush with your fingers. Don’t skimp on the salt…it makes these squares!
 
 
 
Adapted from Martha Stewart Living

IMG_1183

Remember to cut the squares before they cool!

IMG_1186

Can you see the sea salt? YUM. I just want to start crunching on one right now.

Now that you have this recipe…get ready for the next post. We are going to take these squares, add some ice cream and caramel and do something amazing!

3 thoughts on “Salted Chocolate, Pecan and Toffee Squares

  1. These are amazing! Very easy to do! I made them for my office and put little pieces in decorated ziploc bags I got from the dollar store. I got a lot of comments and people begging for the recipe! Thanks for posting! I cant wait to hear about this cake….

  2. You are already inspiring me! Can’t wait to make the crack and crunch it loud! I’ve been told by my hubby that I need to learn to crunch quietly too 🙂

  3. Love you jaimee. this is great I was thinking of doing one too. You have inspried me ~ now I must find the time to sit and write xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

